An Amazing Building – Palazzo Della Pilotta
Within the Palazzo Della Pilotta is the National Gallery, the Palatine Library, the Museum Bodoni, the Archaeological Museum, and the Teatro Farnese.
On the first floor of the Pilotta, a massive wooden door painted with faux marble marks the entrance to the Teatro Farnese (Farnese Theatre), which occupies a large room originally intended as an armory. This wooden masterpiece was later transformed into a theater between 1617 and 1618 by architect Giovan Battista Aleotti. This room is massive and is made solely of wood. This room is simply stunning.
Founded in 1760 by Don Philip, Duke of Parma to coincide with the start of excavation of the ancient Roman town of Veleia, it was the first example in northern Italy of an institution that was involved in archaeological work. The Doge’s antiquities museum, (the National Archaeological Museum of Parma), was later extended to contain materials and artifacts found in the Parma area.
The collections here currently include works by Alessandro Araldi, Correggia, Parmigianino, Tintoretta, Annibale and Lodovico Caracci, Lanfranco, Canaletto, and Da Vinci.